Hello Everyone.

Tonight I am getting geared up to watch Game 4 of the Boston Bruins vs. New York Rangers playoff series… I’m hoping to see the Bruins sweep the series in 4!

At the beginning of May I finished up my first year at Duke Divinity School! The Spring semester this year absolutely kicked my butt. I worked harder than I ever have in school and, honestly, got some of the worst grades on assignments I’ve ever seen. It was very challenging, but I learned so much. Fortunately, my identity is not found in my academic performance.

This Sunday I will be starting my Summer Field Education placement at Concord UMC in community of Eli Whitney, which is about 15 miles west of Chapel Hill, NC. It is a small rural congregation that has a very active community garden where the community works together to grow food. I’m so excited to be a part of the church for a few months! I will be doing everything from preaching and teaching to leading VBS to sitting in on meetings and visiting the sick of the community.¬†

In other news… Leah got accepted to Duke Divinity School for the MDiv program starting in August! She wants to get a theological degree as a foundation for a future in counseling. We are both extremely excited about the Fall! Judah will be starting pre-school (already!) when Leah goes back to school. So… the entire Irby family will be in school at the same time.

Please keep us in your prayers!

