After the death of Moses the Israelites, under the command of their new leader (Joshua), crossed the Jordan River and went into the Promised Land for the first time. The priests of Israel who were carrying the Ark of the Covenant stood in the Jordan River and it stopped flowing so that the great multitude of people could pass through the river on dry land.

When the Israelites reached the other side Joshua commanded men from each of Israel’s 12 tribes to collect a stone from the Jordan River and assemble them together as a memorial for what God had done. These stones were there to remind the Israelites that God had brought them into the Promised Land and that he had parted the waters of the river so that they could walk through. When the children ask their parents one day what those 12 stones are for, the parents are supposed to respond (Joshua 4:22-24):

22 …Israel passed over this Jordan on dry ground.’ 23 For the Lord your God dried up the waters of the Jordan for you until you passed over, as the Lord your God did to the Red Sea, which he dried up for us until we passed over, 24 so that all the peoples of the earth may know that the hand of the Lord is mighty, that you may fear the Lord your God forever.

I’d like to set up some memorial stones in the form of a blog post. God has done some really incredible things for us. We have so much to be thankful for. Honestly, we haven’t been thankful enough for the constant provision and blessing that we receive. So, here are some of the things God has done for us over the last year:

  • Saving for the move was a huge burden for us. When we were preparing to move to Boston I got a check in the mail for $2,000 from a friend that I had not seen in several years and had not spoken to about needing money. I got several checks from people in our church in Florida. People literally just saw that we had a need and decided to help us. We didn’t have to coax them or tell them how much we needed it. They just gave. God used his people to provide for us in incredible ways.
  • When we moved up here, before I had a job, we had two different families let us stay with them. Both couples allowed two adults and a toddler to move into their home for little or no rent. Both families had an incredible attitude about it and made us feel so welcomed and loved.
  • I got a job after waiting and waiting and waiting for one.
  • We have an apartment with more than enough space. It is in immediate proximity to two of our really good friends.
  • I have had severe back problems for a lot of my life. One several occasions I haven’t been able to get out of bed or off the floor because of the pain. I had some of my friends pray for me one night at church. Within two weeks the pain had completely gone away. Several months later the pain has not returned.
  • We have incredible, loving, giving friends up here. Leah and I were really worried about connecting with people in Boston because we had such strong connections back home.
  • I got a fantastic bonus at work. The bonus is based off of the commission that I make at on a weekly basis. The larger your commission growth, the larger the bonus. Due to some circumstances that had very little to do with me or how well I did my job, my commission grew significantly over the last few months. The bonus that I got was one of the largest ones that our company paid out this quarter.
  • We got the largest income tax return that we have ever had… by a lot.

So… these are just a few of the awesome things that have happened. There have been a lot more little things that have happened. I could talk for hours about how wonderful things have been in the midst of our difficulties.

I can’t wait to tell my son about the great things that God has done.

