I wanted to share some of my favorite music from last year with you. In the past I have assembled a top 10 list, but to be completely honest, I haven’t listened to enough music in the past year to have a comprehensive list.

There is a band called Cataldo from Seattle that my friend Tony turned me on to. Their record “Prison Boxing” was, by far, the most listened to of the entire year. I had it going constantly. You can stream the entire album HERE on their website.

One of my favorite songs of the year came from Fleet Foxes‘ new record “Helplessness Blues”. There are several good songs on this record, but this song in particular is my favorite.

 

“Ghosts Upon the Earth” the new record from Gungor is absolutely incredible. It is one of the most beautifully constructed albums I’ve heard in a long time… especially in the market of music made by Christians. Listen to “Crags and Clay”:

At the end of 2011 I started listening to the new Florence + The Machine album “Ceremonials”. It is a deeply thoughtful and surprisingly theological album. I have always kind of chosen to stay away from F+TM because, well… they got popular before I started liking them, therefore I subconsciously ignored their existence. My bad. This album is really good. Watch the (very creepy) video for “Shake it Out”… a really great song that I interpret as being about repentance.

Mates of State put out a new record this year called “Mountaintops”. Here is a video for the single “Palomino”. Leah and I have been big Mates of State fans for years. This record is really solid and has lots of really catchy songs.

The Head and the Heart have a handful of really good indie/folk/pop songs on their self-titled record. I particularly like the song “Rivers and Roads”… it has a lot of parallels to our current life situation and how much we miss our friends and family back home.

I also enjoyed:

  • The Rapture – “In The Grace of Your Love”
  • Bon Iver – “Bon Iver”
  • Death Cab For Cutie: “Codes and Keys”
  • Washed Out – “Within and Without”
  • Cut Copy – “Zonoscope”

In addition to some music from 2011 I also got into a few other records a year or so late.

  • The National – “High Violet”
  • Mumford & Sons – “Sigh No More”
  • The Brilliance- “The Brilliance” 
  • Kopecky Family Band “The Disaster”
