I have had a beard for 5 years. It has become a huge part of my identity. There are hundreds of people that know me only as a young guy with a beard. Here is a little history of my facial hair…

While we were still dating, Leah used to always mention that she thought guys with beards were cute. I would always tell her that I couldn’t grow a proper beard and that I shouldn’t try… the results would be disastrous. She still coaxed me to do it. So, during a study abroad program in London in the summer of 2006 I made my first attempt to grow a beard. This is what it looked like:

There was a little scruff there, but nothing of substance. That is how my face looked for a few months. Then, in October 2007 when Leah and I got married it looked a little something like this:

This would be what would be considered my beard’s “fully glory”. This was about as long as it ever got. I always had some serious beard patches where I couldn’t grow my beard thick. I used to be self-conscious about it, but I got over it. It was, after all, my beard. Who should tell me how to wear it? So what if people handed me pocket change because they thought I was homeless sometimes?

This is a picture Leah and I took in our house right before we moved out last month. I have been rocking the sans-stache look for a couple of years now.

So, now I am applying for some grown up jobs in Boston. I have an interview next week for a job where I will have to wear a suit every day. I am also trying to get another job that has a strict no facial hair rule. I knew that the day would come… the day where I have to shave my beard off. I decided to shave off my patchy, homeless beard so that I may be able to get a job.

I know what you are thinking: “A job that doesn’t allow beards is a job that isn’t worth having!” I would usually agree with you. However, I really want to even my playing field in the job market. I don’t want to get passed over for something as trivial as a beard.

This is me right before the cut:

The electric shave…

The lather up…

And the final product…

And Hey! Look! my wife still loves me!

This is going to take some getting used to…

