Over the last few weeks I have recounted to several people what is going on with our Boston move. Here is the official update.

At the beginning of May I went with my friend John to Boston to look for a place to live and to have job interviews. If you don’t already know, my family is planning on living with our friends John and Jenny. They have been married for just a little bit less time than we have.

Neither me nor John got the jobs we interviewed for. Because we didn’t have jobs finding a place to live didn’t pan out either. Other than learning a lot more about the city and getting to meet some of the people in our new church the trip was pragmatically a bust. I know that practical things aren’t always the most important things to focus on, but if I’m going to be honest (which I try to do) I was pretty disappointed by the trip.

So, we got home and thought it over for a week. Then my family started moving out of our house and into Tom and Cassie’s house (which, by the way, is my church’s parsonage… weird). After we got settled in we decided that John and I were going to keep up the search… we were going to keep applying for jobs and, in the event of an interview, we were going to look for another house. We also decided that if we didn’t find housing or a job John and I could possibly go up to Boston for an indefinite amount of time and stay with someone in the church while we figure things out.

So, Tuesday of this week John went up for an interview. He didn’t get the job he applied for BUT HE DID GET AND EVEN BETTER JOB at a different place. Praise God.

Leah and I are leaving on Saturday of this week (June 11th) to go to Boston because I have an interview at a really cool sign-making company on the outside of the city on Monday morning. While we are there we are going to look at a couple more apartments.

If all goes well, all 5 of us will be moving by the end of June. If all does not go well… well, I don’t know. We will figure it out. James 4:13-15 says:

“13 Come now, you who say, “Today or tomorrow we will go into such and such a town and spend a year there and trade and make a profit”—14 yet you do not know what tomorrow will bring. What is your life? For you are a mist that appears for a little time and then vanishes.15 Instead you ought to say, “If the Lord wills, we will live and do this or that.”

So I’m going to try really hard to not decide for myself what is going to happen in a month. I honestly don’t know.

In this time I am reminded repeatedly of the entire Exodus story. In fact, by “coincidence” I just happened to be reading through Exodus during this whole process. In the Exodus story the Israelites are constantly asking Moses (and ultimately God) “Why?” “Why did you bring us out into the desert?” “Why is there no food out here?” “Why, Why Why?” Despite their continued lack of faith in the God that parted the freaking Red Sea for them, God keeps providing for them in miraculous ways that they can not understand. First he brings down plagues on Egypt. Then he parts the waters. Then he rains down food from the sky.

I am definitely dealing with Israelite-ish tendencies right now. God has always (sometimes miraculously) provided for me. Still I am having trouble trusting that he will provide trivial things like jobs and houses. God will provide. He always does.

If I want anyone to take away anything from following my story on this blog it is this: if you step out in faith and do what God has called you to He will provide. It isn’t easy to trust all the time, but He is faithful. He loves you more than you could ever know.

Much love.

