I’ve always been a pretty big coffee drinker. I normally drink 2 or 3 cups per day. I really enjoy the complexity and the acidity of a good cup of strong coffee. I usually drink my coffee black so that I can fully enjoy the flavors. However, my relationship with coffee has become a little less romantic as of late.

Since I’ve been working at the TV station my consumption has become a lot more pragmatic. For the last year or so I’ve been drinking about a pot per night so that I can stay awake. I don’t enjoy drinking coffee anymore. I only drink it for its effects which, coincidentally, are less effective the more coffee I drink.

I assume that the fact that I have stopped enjoying coffee is a pretty good sign that my love for it has crossed from a pleasant addiction to a harmful one. My stomach churns every time I drink it. Honestly, the idea of drinking coffee at all kinda revolts me right now. I’ve known that I should probably stop drinking it for a few weeks now.

What is stopping me? Crippling caffeine headaches, of course. If I go for more than 24 hours without a cup of coffee I get really bad headaches. They are awful.

However, I received a little bit of an unlikely blessing on Tuesday morning. I got sick.

While I was sick I had absolutely no desire to drink coffee… so I didn’t. I had a really bad headache from being sick, so I took some NyQuill and slept all day. It was refreshing. I woke up realizing that it had been well over 24 hours since my last cup of coffee. I emerged on the other side of being sick with a head start on kicking my coffee addiction.

Now it has been 4 days since my last cup of coffee. I’ve had some reoccurring headaches, but I’m ultimately feeling pretty good.

I really want to get back to drinking coffee because I like it. I’m not sure how long it will take for my body to purge the caffeine poisoning, but I will wait.

This is a big victory for my self-control.

