The whole concept of “blessing” makes me uncomfortable. I’m going to blame Joel Osteen.

As an Evangelical Christian who grew up in 1990’s and 2000’s, I have heard my fair share of prosperity gospel proclamations. I’ve heard on so many occasions things like: “Jesus will bless you with a new car if you give to the church” or “God will heal you if you just have faith”. Televangelists have tainted the idea of God’s blessing for me. When I hear someone talk about God blessing me it makes my stomach churn. I start thinking things like “that’s very nice and all, but who am I that God would bless ME?”

So, with that in mind, it is with great respect and trepidation that I approach this subject.

I don’t really know how to say this, but… God has been blessing us like crazy recently. As we are preparing for our move to Boston, God has been providing incredible things for us… miracles, really.

I feel like the “health and wealth” preachers tend to brag about everything that “God” has given them. I have a tendency to over-correct and simply not address my blessings at all. I know that my tactic is just as destructive as the people that I judge.

In the Old Testament God regularly blesses people with abundance. The appropriate response to that blessing is always to give thanks and praise to God for what He has given. So, that is what I want to do right now.

God has blessed me with an incredible family. I’m not just talking about my wonderful wife and son. Judah has two ridiculously supportive grandmothers that are always there for us. We have an awesome church family that is really standing up for us right now as we are preparing to move to Boston.

People have been offering us money for our move left and right. In the last 2 weeks I have had 4 different people either give me money or tell me their intent to give us money.

Tonight Leah and I went out to dinner so that we could have a little bit of time to ourselves. An anonymous person paid for our meal.    

I have been praying that God make arrangements for my replacement at the church once I leave. God has provided a guy named Josh who will step into my place.

God has provided us with a really fantastic couple to live with when we get to Boston. John and Jenny Pipkin will be sharing an apartment with us when we move. Had God not brought them into our lives I can not see how we could have afforded to live up there.

I prayed for God to help me sort out some issues with fear, anxiety, and depression. God brought some great people and resources into my life to take care of those things.

I read something recently that put the idea of God’s blessing into perspective. I can’t remember the source (let me know if you know where this came from). It said that when God calls us to go somewhere or do something, He provides for us in a way that can bring glory only to His name. He uses means so impractical and illogical that there is no way that a human could take credit for it.

That is exactly what He is doing here.

God is providing for us. There is nothing that I have done to deserve this provision. I worked really hard for a year to provide for myself so that our family could go to Boston. I sacrificed my sleep, time with my family, and mental stability. I did that so that I could feel good about my own contribution to moving.

That wasn’t God’s plan.

God’s plan was that I would stop worrying and trust Him to provide for me like He promised.

I am so thankful.

Psalm 40 1-3:

1 I waited patiently for the Lord; he inclined to me and heard my cry.
2 He drew me up from the pit of destruction, out of the miry bog,
and set my feet upon a rock, making my steps secure.
3 He put a new song in my mouth, a song of praise to our God.
Many will see and fear, and put their trust in the Lord

