I’m going to ask you for money.

There is no easy way to ask people for money. It is super awkward. It makes me feel bad about myself.

I want you to know that I prayed about this for weeks before I posted it. I didn’t take writing this lightly.

So, here goes…

My family is moving to Boston to be a part of a church plant this summer. We are moving in June. We need to raise money to cover our moving expenses. We have about $2,500 that we have raised on our own. Our goal was to be at $7,500 by the time we move. We are, clearly, quite short of that.

We are kinda in a weird place for this whole moving thing. We are not “official” missionaries. We are not signed on with any organization. We do not have tax-exempt status. We are just a family moving to one of the most secular cities in America to be a part of a new church. This puts us in an awkward place…

“Official” missionaries have the benefit of going to churches and asking for money because they are going to a particular city. They have an organization to vouch for them. We are just people moving to be a part of something that we feel called to.

The only person that can vouch for me right now is me… so here are my credentials…

Over the last year I have worked two full time jobs. One of them is overnight at a TV station. The entire purpose of working these jobs was to save money so that we could move to Boston.

I also want you to know that we plan on getting jobs once we move to Boston to support ourselves. Between my wife and I we have applied for dozens of jobs so far. I just want you to know that we are taking the steps to become self-sufficient. We are not planning on living solely off of support.

So, this is my humble plea…

God has shown us over and over again that we should not rely on ourselves or our own understanding. We need help. If you have extra resources that you could share with us to help us move to Boston we would really appreciate them.

CLICK HERE TO DONATE MONEY

Thank you so much for even considering giving us money. If you aren’t in a place in your life to do that right now, we understand. Your prayers would be greatly appreciated.

