Leah’s grandmother used to have a pillow that said:

“God couldn’t be everywhere… That’s why He made grandmothers”

Though I think that the pillow is extremely theologically inaccurate, I appreciate the sentiment… especially today.

Tonight was a difficult night for me.

As you know, I work at night and sleep during the day. This evening I woke up from my second shift of sleeping at around 7:30pm. My wife and I had to immediately go to the church to set up for Sunday morning.

Usually Judah spends the night with my mother-in-law on Saturday nights. This allows us to set up at the church on Saturday night and keeps Leah from having to get him ready on her own while she is rushing to get to the church by 7am on Sunday. However, tonight my mother-in-law was out of town. That meant that we had to go to the church around 8pm to set up for Sunday morning with a one-year-old, who has an 8:30pm bed time.

Fortunately my mom was willing to watch him so that we could get our work done. However, that still meant that we kept Judah out until 9:30pm… an hour past his usual bed time. It was… stressful.

So, what’s the point of my boring story?

1) Sometimes I feel really guilty about what I am putting my family through by having this job. They have to spend full days at home, tip-toeing around and trying to be quiet so that I can rest. When I do wake up, we have to rush around to get things done because there just isn’t enough time during the day for me to sleep and get things accomplished.

2) I am really thankful for the people in my life that help us out. We are in a place where we honestly aren’t able to be who we need to be for our son 100% of the time. In addition to being parents, Leah and I have 3 full-time jobs between the two of us. There is no way that we could function the way that we did tonight every single Saturday night. We would be miserable.

I am so thankful for both of Judah’s grandmothers. They are incredible.

