I really like Arcade Fire.

Their new album “The Suburbs” was one of my favorite records in 2010. However, in spite of my love for them I’ve never looked too closely at their lyrics. I’ve always known that there seem to be references to Christianity in their music from time to time, but other than that I’ve never really taken the songs apart. So, after curiosity about a lyric I decided to go through some of their songs.

Here are a few selections that I pulled out.

From the song “Neighborhood #3 (Power Out)” –

“And the power’s out in the heart of man
Take it from your heart, put in your hand
And there’s something wrong in the heart of man
You take it from your heart and put it in your hand!”

From the song “Neon Bible” –

“Vial of hope and a vial of pain
In the light they both looked the same
Poured them out on into the world
On every boy and every girl singing

It’s the Neon Bible, the Neon Bible
Not much chance for survival
If the Neon Bible is right”

From the song “City With No Children” –

You never trust a millionaire
Quoting the sermon on the mount
I used to think I was not like them
But I’m beginning to have my doubts
My doubts about it

When you’re hiding underground
The rain can’t get you wet
Do you think your righteousness
Can pay the interest on your debt?
I have my doubts about it

From the song “Wake Up” –

If the children don’t grow up
Our bodies get bigger but our hearts get torn up
We’re just a million little gods causing rainstorms
Turning every good thing to rust

From the song “Crown of Love” –

The pains of love, and they keep growing
In my heart there’s flowers growing
On the grave of our old love
Since you gave me a straight answer

If you still want me, please forgive me
The crown of love is not upon me
If you still want me, please forgive me
Because this crown is not within me
It’s not within me, it’s not within me

You got to be the one
You got to be the way
Your name is the only word that I can say

