Almost 3 months ago my church’s Production Manager (my boss) resigned. He was in charge of the Live Production and Worship Departments. It was his job to make sure that everything that happened on the stage on Sunday mornings went off smoothly. Soon after he left, the church began talks about finding a Worship Pastor. The Worship Pastor would have the same job as the Production Manager, but would be able to lead a band on Sunday mornings. This person would be by new boss.

In the meantime I would be assuming some of the responsibilities of the Production Manager. I became the guy that stands in the gap between two different leaders. It is now my job to help lead a department until the new Worship Pastor is hired. Things have been going really well. God has blessed us in this time of transition. I have some incredible worship leaders and technical staff that are giving above and beyond of themselves to make this whole thing work.

However, as Advent is approaching I can’t help but think about how the Jews felt in the time between the last words of Malachi and the birth of Christ. God had been silent for 400 years. They had no direction. They had no clarity. They had no hope. The faithful were growing weak. Their hearts were aching to hear from God.

Now, I wouldn’t go as far as to say that our situation is that desperate. I know that we are going to be ok. I know that we will have a new leader soon. I also don’t want to imply any silly deity-projection onto the Worship Pastor. Our new leader will be simply human. However, I can relate to the longing for guidance and direction. I feel a longing for someone to tell me what to do. I long for boundaries. I long for clarity. I long for rest.

God has a plan, and I know that. However, this year I am going to have a clearer understanding of what it feels like to wait for the one that will set things back into place. I am going to have a greater appreciation for the birth of the Savior. I am going to have a greater appreciation of who Jesus was to the Jews and who He, ultimately, is to me.

