Recently I’ve been thinking a lot about the concept of God’s calling. A lot of us sit around and wait for God to make our future obvious to us. All the while we spend a lot of time living our lives as if we don’t actually trust Him to provide for us. Here is a little commentary on that idea by Francis Chan from “Crazy Love”:

Most of us use “I’m waiting for God to reveal His calling on my life” as a means of avoiding action. Did you hear God calling you to sit in front of the television yesterday? Or to go on your last vacation? Or exercise this morning? Probably not, but you still did it. The point isn’t that vacations or exercise are wrong, but that we are quick to rationalize our entertainment and priorities yet are slow to commit to serving God.

When you talk to most people who are selflessly doing good things, you don’t hear a lot of them say things like “God clearly and audibly called me to move to Uganda.” For most people it is “I saw a movie and I felt inspired” or “I read an article and hurt for the hungry” or “I was on my way to the store and saw a homeless family”. People respond to the things that they feel emotionally moved by and decide that they don’t want to live their lives the same way they always have.

There is no shortage of emotional inspiration in our world. There are sick, dying, hurting people all over the place. There are millions of people who need to hear the message of hope that comes from Jesus Christ. All you have to do is do something… anything!

