Tags

, ,

I just started reading Francis Chan’s Crazy Love. One of the main themes that he has touched on in the first chapter is the greatness of God. He talks about the human tendency to try to contain God within our own understandings of the universe. We try to come up with logical justifications for why God does what he does. We try to put our own characteristics on God as if He was created in our image rather than the other way around.

Another less obvious way that we try to put human constraints on God is through our descriptions of Him. Chan says (Crazy Love p.31) that “Many Spirit-Filled authors have exhausted the thesaurus in order to describe God with the glory that He deserves. His perfect holiness, by definition, assured us that our words can’t contain Him.” We forget sometimes that there is nothing that we can do to contain God.

There is no painting that can capture the fullness of His beauty.

There is no song that can fully give Him the praise that He deserves.

There are no praise that we can give Him that comes close to honoring His power and might.

Chan goes on to say “Isn’t it a comfort to know that we worship a God we cannot exaggerate?”

I’ve always had a hard time letting God’s magnificence resonate in my heart. I lack the child-like wonder that I should approach Him with. I’m not often touched by the beauty of God’s sunset or the vastness of the universe. For some reason I’m just not impressed.

I’m really hoping to work through that in the reading of this book.

