I’ve recently started a new job at a TV station doing something called Master Control. For people not accustomed to TV news vernacular, that means that I monitor everything that is going out over the air. I make sure that we are showing Good Morning America when its time to be on. I make sure that we are showing informercials when we are supposed to show infomercials. I make sure that Dr. Phil plays when its supposed to. I have a lot of other various tasks, but that isn’t important to this post.

What is important is that I have a LOT of down time.

Since my shift is during overnights, I don’t have co-workers to talk to. I’m mostly by myself for about 5 hours of my 8 hour shift. I have found several websites that make this a lot more tolerable:

  1. Craigslist – Especially the “free” section. It’s amazing what kind of crap people think that other people want.
  2. Regator – Regator is a multi-blogging site. It’s kinda like a blog-specific Fark without the sarcastic article titles. You can set favorite topics and get updates from blogs that interest you.
  3. Grooveshark – Grooveshark is an internet jukebox. Unlike internet radio (e.g. Pandora) Grooveshark allows you to pick your own songs and build playlists. That means that I could listen to the entire Will Smith back catalogue all night long if I wanted to.
  4. The Oatmeal – A hilarious online comic site. I have spent lots of time going through their archives.
