I’ve really been wrestling with the question of whether or not the primary objective of Christ is to bring things like peace and joy to the Earth (This wrestling has been figurative, of course. I have not been trying to put my thoughts into a lion-tamer.) I really want to believe that God ultimately wants everyone to be happy. I want to believe that there is good in most people and that Christians should focus most of their attention on being loving and peaceful. The last few years has slowly chipped this idea away in my life. You see, I keep reading this whole Bible thing and it keeps telling me otherwise.

Don’t get me wrong, there is no place for hate and wrath in Christianity. That luxury is saved for God. Those who spend their time casting judgement on the sinful world forget 1 Peter 4: 17 which tells us that judgement begins at the house of God. But I keep coming across pesky verses like Luke 12: 51-53…

51 Do you think that I have come to give peace on earth? No, I tell you, but rather division. 52 For from now on in one house there will be five divided, three against two and two against three. 53 They will be divided, father against son and son against father, mother against daughter and daughter against mother, mother-in-law against her daughter-in-law and daughter-in-law against mother-in-law.

Following Jesus will cause strife in your life. It will cause people you love to turn against you. It will cause other Christians to turn against you. It will not be easy. When you follow Christ, you follow him to the cross. Don’t take this decision lightly.

Please stop making Christianity seem easy and pleasant. It makes naive college kids like me (circa 2005-2006) listen to people like Rob Bell.

