On Tuesday, June 1st I started working part-time at a local TV news station (if you are keeping score, that is now my 3rd job). I get up at 3am every morning so that I can drive to the beach for a 4:15am shift as a production assistant. Why would I do such a thing?

UPDATE: On August 1, 2010 I started a new shift at a different TV station. I now work overnights 5 days per week running master control.

Around a year ago, my attention was turned to a guy named Adam Mabry. Adam, who is now a dear friend, spoke at my church about a church plant that he was going to lead in Boston called Aletheia (I encourage you to explore their website). He shared with us all sorts of interesting statistics about the drought of Christian influence in the great city. In Boston only 2% of people consider themselves “Evangelical Christians”. Compare that to 6% in Saudi Arabia. At the same time, 25% of the world’s leaders are educated in Boston. That is a huge potential for influence.

At the time I felt slightly interested in being a part of this church plant. However, the impending birth of my son caused me to really question the logic of this. I had one part-time job and was expecting a baby. How would I be able to move my family across the country? So, I talked to Leah about it. We prayed. We waited.

We kept the idea of moving to Boston in the back of our minds for at least 6 months. It still just seemed like a big, fat “maybe”.

Then, one night I met with Adam. We talked for a couple of hours about all sorts of things. I was able to ask him some serious, honest questions. He did the same to me. On my way home, I felt an overwhelming peace about moving. I knew that we were supposed to do it. After Leah and I stayed up late one night talking about it, we came to the decision… we are going to go.

In one night our attitude changed from “God, we will go if you want us to” to “God, we’re going to Boston. Stop us if you don’t want us to”. We set a move date: June 2011. Then we had to figure out our finances.

Boston is expensive. Housing in Boston costs 90% more than in Panama City. That means that we will have to pay almost double to live there. So, we came up with a plan. We set a goal of paying off all of our debt (not that much) and saving up at least 3 months of living expenses. That comes out to about $7500. To accomplish that, I needed to temporarily pick up an extra job. That is where the TV station comes in.

So, if you were wondering why I started working an extra job, that is why. We are moving to Boston in the summer of 2011.

Please pray for us.

