The title of this post is meant to be about 97% sarcastic.  Working at a church is generally extremely taxing. People who work at a church take everything  personally. There is no “strictly-business” attitude in a church setting. You have a bunch of unpaid volunteers and underpaid staff performing tasks based on the fact that they love Jesus and want other people to hear the Gospel. Egos get challenged. Feelings get hurt. Emotions run high. This is probably why CNN ranked “Church Music Minister” as #5 on a list of stressful, badly-paying job.

However, the 3% that is “easy” (as the post title implies) is wonderful. Working at a church gives you a handful of benefits that you don’t get from other jobs. The first is that you can take pride in your work and feel like you are making a difference. This might seem trite (and on bad days it is) but knowing that people are personally impacted by my work is fulfilling.

The second benefit of working at a church is forgiveness. If I was a video director for a band or a conference, I would have been fired for some of the stuff that I’ve gotten away with here. For instance, one Sunday our projection system went down. I had to rig together a hideous screen and a low-lumen projector to run lyrics with. It looked awful. That kind of thing would have never been forgiven in another setting.

The third benefit (which is my favorite) of working at a church is that I get to be a part of a community. There are around 1000 people that attend my church on any given Sunday. I don’t have a relationship with most of them, but I have great relationships with more of them than I could have ever imagined. The beautiful thing about a church community is that it is made up of people who are different than each other. The only bond that I share with many of the people at my church is the fact that we believe that Jesus died for our sins. That is so beautiful to me.

As Easter approaches and church employees everywhere are doubling their work hours, please keep us in mind. Pray for the staff of your church. Write someone an encouraging note. Give us hugs (but not on Easter Sunday… we’ll be too busy).  It is always rewarding to know that our efforts are noticed and valued.

