Our church recently started a six-week study called Renew which focuses on three basic parts of growing as a Christian: Connecting, Growing, and Serving. We just started the fifth week, which is the Serving section.

So, I’m a young, idealistic, liberal Christian. I rode the Rob Bell feel-goodery train in 2005/2006. I read Irresistible Revolution. I know allllll about serving. I’ve always been the first to bring up the fact that we should do a sermon series about dealing with poverty. I suggested that our church partner with a charity to brew fair trade coffee on Sundays. I even threw around an idea to screen a social justice movie like Invisible Children at our church. But when it comes down to it, I’ve done jack squat to help the poor.

In the three years that I’ve been at my church, I’ve been to two homeless feedings. That’s it. For all the times that I’ve arrogantly quoted from Matthew 25, all I can muster is two trips downtown to feed the homeless.

Mathew 25:40:  “as you did it to one of the least of these my brothers, you did it to me.”

I’m really excited about a project coming up this Saturday called cityREACH. It is our church’s way to be the hands and feet the God has called us to be. We are doing a service blitz throughout the city. We have around two dozen service projects set up that people can get involved in. People can sign up for anything from packing Easter baskets for kids at Anchorage Children’s home to landscaping work to de-roofing a house. I will be going from location to location shooting video, getting stories, and capturing the movement. I’m really looking forward to sharing it.

