On the evening of the Health Care vote, I’m reminded of two verses in the New Testament that relate to how we should react to this as Christians:

Matthew 22:20-21

20And Jesus said to them, “Whose likeness and inscription is this?” 21They said, “Caesar’s.” Then he said to them, “Therefore render to Caesar the things that are Caesar’s, and to God the things that are God’s.

Romans 13:1-6

1 Let every person be subject to the governing authorities. For there is no authority except from God, and those that exist have been instituted by God. 2 Therefore whoever resists the authorities resists what God has appointed, and those who resist will incur judgment. 3 For rulers are not a terror to good conduct, but to bad. Would you have no fear of the one who is in authority? Then do what is good, and you will receive his approval

Yes, I am a Democrat. I voted for Obama. However, since his election I have seen the crippling effects of a divided nation. God really convicted me of my obstinacy during the Bush administration. I wish that I had fully understood how harmful the attitudes that I harbored were. I really hope that lots of people can learn that lesson too. You don’t have to agree with everything the president says, I just ask that Christians are a little bit less anxious to shout “tyranny!” if this vote passes. We are charged to pray for our leaders, not to stir up controversy:

1 Timothy 2:1-2

1 I urge that supplications, prayers, intercessions, and thanksgivings be made for all people, 2 for kings and all who are in high positions, that we may lead a peaceful and quiet life, godly and dignified in every way.


