If you follow me on Twitter you may have seen that I turned down a job opportunity the other day. I wanted to explain further.

Our current work situation is kind of weird. I work part-time at our church doing all things technical. I also have started a video production company that has done almost no work because of the disastrous combination of a bad economy and my inability to sell myself. Leah is working full-time at our church. She and Judah have health insurance. I do not. Things are tight, but with some budgeting we are making it just fine.

The job was at Beach TV, which (if you don’t live in Panama City) is a really lame local tourism station that plays 24 hours of commercials for all-things Panama City. I had no real desire to work there, but I saw that they had a full-time job open for a videographer/editor and I saw that it paid well. I got a call from the Production Manager who described the job to me and set up a meeting.

The meeting was pleasant, the job seemed ok. We chatted about techy video stuff (which I am not too big on… I did a lot of smiling and nodding) for a while. Beach TV has several affiliate stations in the Southeast, so I would have to travel a lot (at least one week per month). I thought that I could handle that. Then, the awkward part of the job came out. It turns out that Beach TV regularly does promos for various strip clubs. This would require me to shoot video inside strip clubs on a regular basis (including a gay strip club in Key West).

This part of the job is not ok.

I want to support my family with a full-time job. I do not, however, want to support an industry that degrades women and ensnares men. The sex industry destroys families. I can’t be a part of that. On top of that I didn’t want to put myself in a place of temptation, especially if I was on the road for weeks at a time.

So that is why I turned down a well-paying job.

