Last night I went to see the Creation Fest Tour featuring Jars of Clay, Thousand Foot Krutch, and Audio Unplugged (Audio Adrenaline) in Panama City. These days, I’m not super excited about seeing leftover 90’s bands like Jars of Clay and Audio Adrenaline, but they have a special place in my heart. As an active youth group attendee, I was a big fan of just about every “cool” Christian rock band when I was in middle school. Let’s do the list:

  • Jars of Clay: Yep
  • Audio Adrenaline: Of Course (I had “Bloom” on cassette)
  • DC Talk: I can still sing every word to every song on “Jesus Freak”
  • Newsboys: definitely
  • The OC Supertones: “Supertones Strike Back” changed my life. No joke.

I’ve found that Christian music affords musicians with a rare opportunity that secular musicians do not get. Christians tend to be more forgiving of old age. That means that old bands like Jars of Clay can still make new albums and tour in support of them. Of course, they have to re-invent themselves to stay relevant to the kids. The new JOC album, “The Long Fall Back to Earth” is tacky synth-pop done even worse than Jonezetta. However, youth groups are eating it up… just like they did the acoustic alt-rock that made Jars of Clay so famous back in the 90’s.

